RULES & PROCEDURES FOR THE JOINT HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

ADOPTED: November 19, 2013

1. Membership

The Joint Higher Education Committee (Committee) consists of the following eight members: Two members from each of the major caucuses in the House of Representatives, and two members from each of the major caucuses in the Senate. The caucuses must each appoint at least one of their members from the fiscal committee and at least one member from the higher education committee

The Committee shall select co-chairs from among its members, with a chair from the House and a chair from the Senate representing two different parties.

2. Meetings

The Committee shall meet at least twice annually. The co-chairs shall determine the date, time, and place of meetings. Notices of Committee meetings shall be posted on the House of Representatives' and the Senate's website and in the printed Legislative Meeting Schedule.

Any portion of a Committee meeting may be devoted to public comment.

3. Quorum

Five (5) members of the Committee shall constitute a quorum. The Committee may meet without a quorum present but shall not adopt recommendations or vote without a quorum present in person or by phone.

4. Decisions

The Committee shall make decisions on the basis of consensus whenever possible. Where a consensus does not emerge, a majority of the members present must vote in favor of an action for it to be adopted. Adoption of final recommendations shall require at least **five (5) yes votes.**

5. Meeting Records

Legislative committee staff will maintain and keep the official records of Committee meetings.

6. Expenses

The travel expenses of legislators on the Committee shall be paid by the member's legislative body.